There is so much information out there about the ‘miracle stem cells’ that its easy to become bogged down and lost in amongst all of the data, with some giving hope, some wiping it away, some are in total conflict with each other.

That’s why I reblogged Helen’s very useful information from Australia, which encourages people to make a rational and informed choice about stem cell therapy for any condition. Please use it if you are considering stem cell therapy in any area.

Everyone has the opportunity to make decisions about their lives, take risks and try to solve their problems the way they see fit.

For example, I have met a famous Japanese stem cell surgeon who has a 17% successful cure rate for cancer using pluripotent dendrite cells… and then on the same day,  I read that stem cells, in particular, adipose fat stem cells ( the type I had given back to me) can cause cancer…. ( http://m.cancerres.aacrjournals.org/content/72/1/325.abstract)

I have been to Japan, where the impact of the nuclear disaster is allegedly 10 times greater than Chernobyl… I may even develop cancer from having eating radioactive food there…and the sea currents are taking that radioactivity straight over to Los Angeles….

Adult stem cells have already had clinical success for bone marrow transplantation, growing new skin layers to treat burns and regenerating corneas (www.nature.com)

I spent a long time researching views and opinions on stem cells treatment, which has been around for over 10 years, but is still not recognised by the FDA, because it isn’t classed as tissue, its classed as a medicine, requiring clinical trials.

The second International Vatican Adult Stem Cell meeting in April 2013, held in the Vatican city, paraded sick children, scientists and stem cell companies to press the point that these therapies must be speeded to clinical use. Italy redefined stem cells as tissue transplantation, which can remove the regulatory overseeing if parliament agree, putting them out of sync with the EU and the FDA). (http://www.nature.com/news/smoke-and-mirrors-1.12805 )

There has been a World Stem Cell summit on non compliant stem cell interventions ( not going through a clinical trial process-which is what I was trying to help Dr Shim create, with evidence and clinical audit trails) (www.ipscell.com)

It was agreed there that the clinical stem cell world isn’t black and white, its varying shades of grey, in that most fall in between totally compliant and totally non compliant. None compliant is the cure all sales pitch for big money without training or approvals.

It was noted at this particular meeting that no one doctor or clinic is going to be able to answer this top 10 list of questions to take to a stem cell clinic, but it starts the risk awareness process.

1) Pre- clinical studies

2) Cells and types

3) Methods and costs

4) Pathogens and additives

5) Manipulations

6) Patient follow up

7) Clinical regulatory compliance

8) Training and licensure

9) Data on efficacy

10) Data on safety

See this link for a further breakdown on these headings 😦 http://www.ipscell.com/2013/09/patient-resource-the-top-1–questions-list-to-bring-with-you-to-the-stem-cell-clinic/ )

I’ve never fancied hand gliding or skiing, (far too dangerous!) but I love snorkelling and swimming. I nearly drowned in a rip tide in Hawaii 14 years ago.

I take my life in my hands every day, crossing the 5 lane road outside our apartment…

But I don’t drink, smoke or take drugs, I walk around 12 km every day with my dogs and I eat healthy, home made food, from fresh ingredients.

So, whilst trying to stay safe and prolong my existence in a healthy way, why did I ‘risk’ my health in this way?

Why didn’t I choose to have a lymph node transplant in Australia, if I felt the need to do something?

Why not a vein anastomosis?

Because I was here, in the country where this treatment was being offered and I can attend the follow up appointments. I was offered a guarantee- in that if it didn’t work, the procedure could be repeated safely after 12 – 18 months. I will still be living here in 12 months.

Robust tests were carried out to assess my bone health, confirm absence of other disease ( e.g. heart disease, diabetes, COPD, blood disorders ) anything that would suggest my recovery would be at risk or that I was unsuitable.

What was the worst that could happen from this treatment? The Liposuction is an approved procedure in the UK, so I felt fairly confident that this element would work.

The worst that could happen was that the stem cell treatment would not work and I would still need compression garments, until something else came along, or this treatment became more refined and success rates rose.

A 100% cure guarantee rate was given for this treatment. 28/28 patients treated since 2012.

Arrangements were made for me to meet an ex patient who had been successfully ‘cured’ – unfortunately, she couldn’t make it until after my operation and as stated on a previous post, both Dr Shim and I were so disappointed when she reported she still wore compression garments and  lymph fluid was still present on her sonogram that day. The 100% cure by 12 months claim became invalid at this point in time. She may still deliver and she can choose to have a ‘top up’

I was shown the equipment that processes the stem cells and how it prepares them for re-introduction into the body.

I was told about the successful clinical tests done on mice.

I met people who had received the varicose vein treatments carried out at this hospital and they were all so pleased, even the 77 year old lady was still wanting to look nice, at her age.

I did some digging around and found that Dr Shim’s reputation with his peers on his vein work was reliable and that he had great skill.

Some people travel to other countries to have procedures done- medical tourism- where’s the follow up if it goes wrong?

Some surgeons travel to other countries to carry out procedures – where’s the follow up when they’ve gone back home?

So, why did I take this risk? Because I felt that I was in the right place, at the right time, and if I didn’t do it, I would never know what I’d overlooked, maybe walked away from, when it was virtually on my doorstep, with easy access to monthly follow up appointments.

I’m not advocating that ANYONE should rush over here to do this for 4 reasons:-

1) I have to wait 12-18 months to establish if I’m cured – I’m only at the start.

2) I can get the regular follow up treatment fairly easily and

3) I still haven’t met any patient that can say they no longer feel the need to continue to wear compression garments and

4) I haven’t seen any sonogram clinical evidence of ANY success in one person YET.

I will let you know when I do….

